Heat Wave

What do you do when Daegu has an unexpected heat wave?

Why you crank on the oven of course!

Despite the crazy end of summer high, I felt the need to bake today and ended up working my little apartment into a sauna. By the end of the afternoon I was one hot sweaty mess! But at least I had tasty treats and a delicious dinner to show for it. I started out making some vanilla cupcakes and peanut butter blondies…

IMG_20140910_170912[1]

The cupcakes were a little plain for my liking, but the blondies are amazing. They turned out perfectly soft and chewy with crispy edges and peanut butter goodness. So many have been consumed!

Then I moved onto cooking, and that’s when things stared to get a little too hot. I had this idea to make vegetarian shepherds pie as it is such a comfort food of mine and the recipe always makes enough to last for the next few days. In my mind this was a time saving idea which I was proud of, but the reality was much different. I had to boil and mash the potatoes, cook the lentils from scratch, sautee the veggies, blend the lentils into a ‘mince’ meat and then combine everything together. It turned out tasty,  but god it was time consuming.

IMG_20140910_201807[1]

My secret to making this pie is to use the leftovers as taco fillings the next night. It’s like tricking myself into having a completely different dinner two nights in a row.

While the pie was being made, I also had some chickpeas cooking along to make up hummus, an assortment of roasted veggies in the oven for my lunches the next few days, and half a pumpkin getting good and cooked in the oven. It was crazy.

IMG_20140910_170928[1]

After several hours the total for my heat wave extravaganza was vanilla cupcakes, pb blondies, shepherds pie, roasted veggies, roasted pumpkin and hummus. After I had cooled myself off with a shower, I was feeling pretty good about what I accomplished. Snaps for a productive day and yummy food!

Leave a Reply

