Weekend Happenings

This weekend was a busy one, so much for my mini goal of saving money!

DSC00733

Yesterday I had to go to the orthodontist to get a wire in my mouth fixed which was just a pain in the ass. It wasn’t too expensive, but left my mouth feeling irritated and sore which made me grumpy all day. I did have one of those moments while I was lying there with my mouth open where I marveled at the whole situation of being in Korea and finding an orthodontist, making an appointment and having something so mundane done. People always think I am travelling through Korea and that it is terribly exciting but in reality I just live here and end up doing menial things like this.

Speaking of menial jobs, the orthodontist was followed by shopping for new underwear and shoes (don’t get worked up, boring ones for work), before finally relaxing with a coffee and a kebab.

IMG_20140531_134722[1]

Bliss.

Last night I was determined to go out as I haven’t had a date night in forever! With my mum visiting and my being away last weekend it had been a long time since we did dinner and drinks on a Saturday. So we headed out so innocently and unknowing about what the night would bring…

It started out find. We ate burgers and had a couple of drinks before going to see Begin Again at the movies. It was actually much better then I thought and I enjoyed it despite Kiera Knightly being in the cast (not a fan). Afterwards it was midnight so we headed to a bar for a nightcap with a friend.

IMG_20140606_175859[1]

This lead to darts, countless shots, dancing and crawling into bed at 5:30 this morning. Why do I do this to myself!

Thankfully I wasn’t really that drunk so today hasn’t been full of a horrible hangover, but I have been extremely tired all day. To make it worse, this afternoon was the first meeting of a book club I just set up so I had to head downtown to talk to people about books when I really just wanting to by lying in bed watching Gavin and Stacey re-runs. Somehow I got myself downtown and ended up having a great time meeting some lovely people. It is so rare in Korea that I meet other girls and just click with them but we spent a coupe of hours talking non-stop about absolutely everything. It’s going to be a good book club 🙂

IMG_20140525_154922[1]

The conversation must have motivated me as when I got home I went on a meal prep extravaganza. Not only did I chop veggies for the week, but made my lunches for the next three days, cooked lentils then turned them into vegetarian mince, boiled and mashed potatoes, roasted pumpkin and potatoes and finally cooked dinner.

IMG_20140824_180801[1]

The fridge looks good but I am exhausted!

And with that I will crawl into bed and collapse for the night. I know I should talk about mini-goals for next week, but it can wait a day, I am too damn tired.

 

Leave a Reply

