Good and Bad Beauty Habits

 Like most people, since coming to Korea I have been swept up by their skincare products. This country is a tad obsessed with different products and having great skin so it is kind of hard not to get caught up. I also love that items like toner and exfoliator are much cheaper then in NZ so I can actually afford to use them. The other day I stumbled across this post on The Wanderlust Project about our own beauty habits and thought I would do my own version. While I don’t have the best beauty habits I do have some good ones, and it’s always nice to give our self credit every now and then. Lord knows I spend too much time focusing on what I am not good at.

So here goes
IMG_0809

The good

– I always, always take my make up of and wash my face at night.  Even if I am sick or stumbling home from drinking I will make sure to remove my makeup and use a cleaner at least. I hate waking up with makeup on my face and know that it is terrible for me.

– Same goes for brushing my teeth! I can’t sleep without cleaning them, it makes me feel gross.

– On the subject of teeth I am super good at flossing twice a day – no  fooling! I even use mouthwash every night. I think it is a result of having braces for several years and finally having a mouth to be proud of.

– I moisturize a lot. Daegu is hot in summer and dry in winter. I always make sure that my skin in nice and soft. I use a foot cream, hand cream, body lotion and face cream.

– I have a different face cream for the evening and morning, because that does make a difference!

– When I buy foundation and primer I make sure it has sunscreen in it. Gotta keep that skin protected (and try to hold off the wrinkles for awhile).

– My diet is mostly healthy and I drink a ton of water. It makes such a difference with my skin.

– I try not to wear too much makeup. Honestly I apply foundation, eye shadow, eye liner and mascara at most. Even when I have a special night out I don’t like to have too much gunk on my face.

– And finally I always take off makeup before exercising, may seem obvious but it is easy to forget.


IMG_1061[1]
The Bad

– My nails are in terrible condition. I keep putting on nail polish then chipping it off and using cheap acetone. As a result the nails look really unhealthy and aren’t all smooth and pretty.

– I get stuck in a rut with makeup colors. I will find an eye shadow and stick with it for months.

– Overall I know very little about how to apply makeup. I always wish I knew how to do something amazing – or even just knew how to blend it – but it doesn’t happen.

– I pick at my face. It’s gross and bad but I just can’t help it! Probably my worst habit ever.

– My hair is really thin and sits very flat so I wash it a lot. Like every day :S I know that is really bad for me but when I try to stop it just goes all limp and oily and I look terrible. One day I didn’t wash it and a boy told me that I looked like Smeagol from Lord of the Rings.

– I can’t do eyebrows. I always over pluck them and manage to miss some strays. There is zero shape to them and I just can’t ever seem to get them right.

– Even though I am super sensitive to caffeine and have trouble sleeping, I just can’t stop drinking coffee. It probably dries out my skin too, but I love it. We all have our vices.
IMG_0342
Chances are there are more bad habits, but lets not dwell on them too much. What about you? Any things you are terrible with or fantastic at?

Leave a Reply

