Goals and the beauty of old Kyoto

It’s my nerdy personality that really likes lists. When I am stressed about everything that I have to do I just write down everything that I have to do and it takes the weight of my shoulders. While I have mentioned before that I don’t really like new years resolutions I do like the idea of small goals and always bettering myself. 2012 was a really hard year for me in China. I was so lonely and unhappy and really began to realize how depended I was on my partner and how I didn’t really know anything about myself. I had no hobbies and the same circle of friends since I was 16. With that in mind I set out last year to change this, join new clubs and discover what I like and am passionate about. This was a major success and I truly felt like I grew into myself a lot, but of course there is always room for more growing (cheesy but true!). So this year I have upped my list to 104 things for 2014. I am finishing it off now and will post the full list tomorrow, but felt I should bring it up while the year is still young.

Till then here is the first of many things I loved about Kyoto, the old buildings!

DSC00113[1]
Kyoto was the capital city before Tokyo and as a result has some beautifully ancient temples and buildings. Rather then knocking them down, the city has built around its history which has turned it into a charming and surprising place to visit. While Tokyo may be the ultra modern and hip city, Kyoto is by far more relaxed but just as exciting to see.

DSC00069[1]
Around each corner were old buildings such as these.

DSC00064[1]
DSC00075[1]
And I even stumbled across this temple from 948 just sitting in the middle of a busy intersection, amazing.

DSC00066[1]
One of the stand outs for me was the area of Pontcho which used to serve as a Geisha district. Being there made you feel like you were in ancient Japan and like a geisha might walk past at any moment.

 

DSC00113[1]
DSC00109[1]
DSC00112[1]
DSC00106[1]
If you do ever find yourself in Kyoto I recommending taking the number 5, 207 or 17 bus to Shijio Karasuma. This is a main shopping district but if you walk down a little side street you will find the old area (the shopping is wroth a look though). Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

