What it feels like for a girl

A friend said to me the other day ‘there is nothing easier then being a white male in this world, and they will never understand that.’ Disagree with her if you will, but there is a lot of truth in this. White men hold so much power in this world, they are listened to, respected and hold a majority of the positions of power. A white man can pitch an idea or give a speech and have a wide audience listen to his every world, a women who attempted the same thing would not be taken as seriously. I do not want to make this about race, I am a white women and know that I can’t understand what it is like to be bi-racial or of color, but I do know something about being a girl.

IMG_0572
I know what it is like to be overlooked at work by my male boss. I know how it feels when there is a situation or an important job that needs to be done and your male co-worker is chosen over you. I also know what it is like to push an idea and have it ignored, then when a male counterpart suggests it suddenly they are a genius for thinking of it (that’s happened and it wasn’t very subtle). I want to do well in my career and be a successful women, but it seems like this is really hard. If I do manage to assert myself and stand up for what I believe in then I get labeled ‘bossy’ a ‘bitch’ or (my favorite) ‘oh she must be on her period.’ Think of Hillary Clinton, whether we agree with her ideas or not she is strong and can get an audience to listen to her. Despite this if you open a newspaper (well click on a news website), the day after a public appearance the focus is not on what she said but on how little makeup she wore. There is such a double-standard in our society with men and women where they are perceived as knowing it all and deserving respect, and we have to work our asses off. If you think about, how many powerful females who people respond to positively can you name, and now think of how many men?

I came across this video the other day and I think it really sums up what I have been feeling. Watch it, think about it and try to change it.

 

http://www.upworthy.com/nailed-it-this-ad-calls-out-5-ridiculous-double-standards-women-face-in-less-than-60-seconds-2?g=2&c=ufb1

Leave a Reply

