Tips and Tricks for Meal Planning

Phew I am one tired girl!

I spent most of the afternoon doing meal prep for the week, something that is a bit annoying at the time but oh so worth it when I come home from work on weekdays. Rather then cook up every little thing I have made it a little easier for myself and spend Sundays doing the jobs that take the most time. For example I roast all my veggies as that way I don’t have to turn on the oven much during the week and dinner comes together way faster.

On today’s menu…
IMG_0739

ratatouille

my easy italian roast potatoes 

IMG_0696
Curried Lentils.
IMG_0726
They look awful I do know, but this is a really yummy dish. It was very easy to put together.

You need…

– 1/2 cup of dry lentils

– 2 cups of water

-1/2 chopped onion

– 1 /12 tsp of curry powder

– salt

Simply put everything together in a pot on the stove and simmer until done. my kind of recipe! 

And some peanut butter cookies just to pull everything together. Yum!

I find this way of cooking works well for me as healthy meals are already put together so it keeps my eating in check during the week. It is also a major time saver as I get home from work around 6pm and do not want to have to think about cooking! Now this doesn’t look like much food but it follows a simple meal plan.

Monday – ratatouille with a side of tofu and potatoes. 

Tuesday – out

Wednesday – pasta with the leftover ratatouille.

Thursday – tofu scramble with the rest of the potatoes.

Friday – lentils with a side of veggies and tortilla.

As you can see a few dishes go a really long way. If you are new to meal planning I recommend sitting down and thinking out a few basic things you can cook which you can par with some sort of side dish – roast veggies are an easy one!

IMG_0682
I like to come up with a couple of vegetable dishes that I know can be served alongside some sort of protein like eggs, tofu or beans. Then I think about how I can use this a little differently, for example mixing the ratatouille in with pasta, or even having in on a tortilla to make a little pizza. This way you can spread one dish worth of cooking over a couple of days without repeating the exact same meal.

I also think about what dishes will use the same vegetables and what needs to be eaten first. This week was easy as the ratatouille ingredients plus a few potatoes were all I really needed to buy. However some weeks I will make up a big salad with a protein such as chickpeas and fresh vegetables like carrots and cucumbers. I know this will need to be eaten early in the week, and I will usually use the fresh veggies in a burger mix that I can freeze for a later day. 

Meal planning is so easy when you actually give it a go, and the benefits are totally worth it. Remember eating well and saving time are all things that make for a happier and healthier you, so why not give it a go.

 

Leave a Reply

