Raisin and Cranberry Scone Goodness

Today I had a day off, yay!! I always say that I am just going to relax on a day off but I always end up cleaning or doing little annoying tasks like driving people to and from work (no names will be given). Today I wanted to do something that I like, so I baked…

Melt in your mouth scones that are slightly sweet with a hint of orange, perfect for an afternoon snack!

 

Image

These babies were good, and very easy to make. I followed Caitlin’s recipe http://www.healthytippingpoint.com/2010/10/project-food-blog-challenge-3.html but changed it just a tiny bit. I think you should make these, make them now!

Ingredients

1 cup white flour

1 cup wholemeal flour

pinch of salt

5 TB margarine

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1 egg

4 TB milk

1/4 cup raisins

1/4 cup cranberries

1/3 cup of orange juice

1 TB orange rind

Steps

– First things first, soak the raisins and cranberries in the orange juice. Just to plump them up a little, maybe for 15 minutes.

– Sift the flours, salt, baking powder and cinnamon. Add the margarine and give it a good mix. You may need to use your hands to make sure that the margarine doesn’t just sit there in clumps.

– Mix the egg and milk, add to the flour and give it a good stir. 

– Add the raisins, cranberries, juice and orange rind. Mix it all up.

– Roll out the dough onto a floured surface, cut into circles, triangles or however you like your scones to look. Sprinkle a bit of brown sugar on top because lets face it that makes everything taste better.

– Bake at 175 degrees for about 12 minutes.

Image

These were really yummy. I always wish I could follow recipes that say ‘wait until the end result has cooled down to taste’ but I can’t and so I wont tell you to. I ate half of one as soon as I pulled it out of the oven because they smelt so good. I have no regrets.

 

Leave a Reply

